Kentucky realigns high school football classification for next two seasons

Kentucky High School Athletic Association logo

High School Football Classification

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association has released its classification and district alignments for the 2023 and 2024 seasons. The KHSAA divides its 222 teams into six classes using enrollment numbers from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Normally, the state governing body realigns teams for a four-year period, but Wednesday, the KHSAA decided on a two year cycle.

According to media reports, about 25-percent of teams will be changing classes.

Here are some of the bigger moves:

  • Reigning 5A champ Douglass, which finished No. 265 in last year’s High School Football America 300 national rankings, powered by NFL Play Football, moves up to 6A.
  • Eight-time champ Covington Catholic drops from 5A to 4A.
  • Six-time champ Louisville Central moves down from 3A to 2A.

Below are the 2023-2024 district assignments:

Class 6A

District 1 – Christian County, Daviess County, Henderson County, McCracken County

District 2 – Barren County, Central Hardin, North Hardin, Warren Central

District 3 – Manual, Meade County, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier

District 4 – Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern

District 5 – Ballard, Eastern, Oldham County, Trinity

District 6 – Campbell County, Great Crossing, Ryle, Simon Kenton

District 7 – Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Dunbar, Tates Creek

District 8 – Bryan Station, Frederick Douglass, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central

Class 5A

District 1 – Apollo, Graves County, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County, Owensboro

District 2 – Bowling Green, Greenwood, Ohio County, South Warren

District 3 – Atherton, Butler, Fairdale, Iroquois

District 4 – Bullitt Central, Grayson County, Moore, North Bullitt, Seneca

District 5 – Anderson County, Collins, Scott County, South Oldham, Woodford County

District 6 – Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Dixie Heights, Highlands, Scott

District 7 – East Jessamine, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, West Jessamine

District 8 – Harlan County, North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern

Class 4A

District 1 – Allen County-Scottsville, Calloway County, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Paducah Tilghman, Warren East

District 2 – Bardstown, Breckinridge County, John Hardin, Nelson County, Thomas Nelson

District 3 – DeSales, Doss, Jeffersontown, Valley, Waggener, Western

District 4 – Franklin County, Henry County, North Oldham, Shelby County, Spencer County, Western Hills

District 5 – Covington Catholic, Grant County, Harrison County, Holmes, Mason County

District 6 – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County

District 7 – Boyle County, Lincoln County, Russell County, Taylor County, Wayne County

District 8 – Corbin, Letcher County Central, Perry County Central, Whitley County

Class 3A

District 1 – Hancock County, Hopkins County Central, McLean County, Trigg County, Union County, Webster County

District 2 – Adair County, Butler County, Franklin-Simpson, Glasgow, Hart County

District 3 – Central, Christian Academy, Elizabethtown, LaRue County

District 4 – Casey County, Garrard County, Marion County, Mercer County

District 5 – Bourbon County, Lexington Catholic, Lloyd Memorial, Pendleton County

District 6 – Bath County, East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Russell, West Carter

District 7 – Bell County, Clay County, Knox Central, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County

District 8 – Belfry, Estill County, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Morgan County, Powell County

Class 2A

District 1 – Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Mayfield, Murray

District 2 – Edmonson County, Fort Campbell, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central

District 3 – Clinton County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County

District 4 – Fort Knox, Lexington Christian, Shawnee, Washington County, W.E.B. DuBois (eligible in 2024)

District 5 – Beechwood, Bracken County, Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Walton-Verona

District 6 – Breathitt County, Danville, Leslie County, Somerset

District 7 – Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Martin County, Prestonsburg

District 8 – Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Pike County Central, Shelby Valley

Class A

District 1 – Ballard Memorial, Caverna, Fulton County, Russellville

District 2 – Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Kentucky Country Day, Louisville Holy Cross

District 3 – Bellevue, Dayton, Newport, Newport Central Catholic

District 4 – Bishop Brossart, Covington Holy Cross, Ludlow, Trimble County

District 5 – Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Sayre

District 6 – Fairview, Nicholas County, Paris, Raceland

District 7 – Harlan, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Pineville, Williamsburg

District 8 – Hazard, Paintsville, Pikeville

Withdrawn from district play – Jackson County (Class 2A), Phelps (Class A)

Table of Contents

Recent Posts
Photo Galleries
Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap